Proof Texting A Comment Policy? I’m All For That

The folks over at Sojourners don’t have a comment policy. They have gone one better and have adopted a Comment Covenant instead. And the neat thing is that they have also provided the Biblical passages to back up their reasoning.

It’s a clearcut case of faith+reason= AWESOME. Take a look,

Sojourners Comment Community Covenant

I will express myself with civility, courtesy, and respect for every member of the Sojourners online community, especially toward those with whom I disagree, even if I feel disrespected by them. (Romans 12:17-21)

I will express my disagreements with other community members’ ideas without insulting, mocking, or slandering them personally. (Matthew 5:22)

I will not exaggerate others’ beliefs nor make unfounded prejudicial assumptions based on labels, categories, or stereotypes. I will always extend the benefit of the doubt. (Ephesians 4:29)

I will hold others accountable by clicking “report” on comments that violate these principles, based not on what ideas are expressed but on how they’re expressed. (2 Thessalonians 3:13-15)

I understand that comments reported as abusive are reviewed by Sojourners staff and are subject to removal. Repeat offenders will be blocked from making further comments. (Proverbs 18:7)

Yep, I really like it and intend to adopt it (with a few minor edits) ASAP. Of course the hard part is living (and writing) by a covenant such as this. Nobody said it was going to be easy street. But you know what?

Fonzie knows.

This entry was posted in Culture, Learning, Living, Working and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

