I’ve Never Read René Girard, But I Will Now

"René Girard" by Vicq - Own work. Licensed under Public Domain via Commons

“René Girard” by Vicq – Own work. Licensed under Public Domain via Commons

So many books, and so little time. That’s my excuse, anyway.

In light of René Girard’s passing, I read this article by Grant Kaplan today and learned that the final book he wrote had to do with Carl von Clausewitz.

I reckon Girard couldn’t get around to writing about mimetic desire and Sun Tzu, but this book, Battling to the End: Conversations with Benoit Chantre (Studies in Violence, Mimesis, & Culture) will do nicely.

This little clip about Peter’s Denial sealed the deal for me, especially from around the 4:16′ mark.

Girard, Peter, Jesus…what an unlikely triangle. Or is it?

Gone readin’!

This entry was posted in Culture, Learning, Living and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.